martha_new Official Photo
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda Maryland UNITED STATES

Martha J. Somerman is the Director of the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Institutes of Health (NIDCR). She also is Chief of the Laboratory of Oral Connective Tissue Biology at the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases. The NIDCR mission is to improve dental, oral and craniofacial health through research, research training, and dissemination of health information. The NIDCR vision is that these activities will be recognized as a catalyst of change in transforming how oral health care is delivered.

Prior to becoming NIDCR’s Director, Somerman was dean of the University of Washington School of Dentistry, Seattle, USA, a position she held from 2002-2011. Before joining the University of Washington, she was on the faculty of the University of Michigan School of Dentistry, Ann Arbor, USA, from 1991 to 2002 and University of Maryland, College Park, USA from 1984-1990. An internationally known researcher and educator,  Somerman’s research has focused on defining the key regulators controlling development, maintenance and regeneration of dental-oral-craniofacial tissues. Further, she has been a recipient of numerous honors and awards throughout her academic career, including most recently the 2018 International & American Associations for Dental Research (IADR) Distinguished Scientist Award for Basic Research in Biological Mineralization.

Somerman holds a D.D.S. from New York University, N.Y., USA, a certificate in Periodontology from Eastman Dental Center, Rochester, N.Y., USA and a Ph.D. in Pharmacology from the University of Rochester, School of Medicine and Dentistry, N.Y., USA.


Hands-on Workshop

12:00 pm–1:15 pm Mar 21

CC, Hall D

Dr. Robert BurneDistinguished Professor atUniversity of Florida Clifton CareyUniv Colorado, Denver Pamela Den BestenUniversity of California - San Francisco Professor Rena D'SouzaAssistant Vice President for Academic Affairs, Health Sciences atUniversity of Utah Dena FischerDirector of the Clinical and Practice-Based Research Program and Acting Director of the Center for Clinical Research atNIDCR/NIH Prof. Rodrigo FrancaAssociate Professor, Head of Dental Materials Division, atUniversity of Manitoba Leslie FriedenExtramural Training Officer atNIDCR/NIH Dr. Mark GenuisCEO atICE Health Systems Inc Dr. Effie IoannidouProfessor atUniversity of Connecticut Dr. Maria KukuruzinskaProfessor, Associate Dean for Research atBoston University Dr. Purnima KumarProfessor atThe Ohio State University Dr. Mary MacDougallDean atUniversity of British Columbia Dr. Daniel McNeilEberly Distinguished Professor atWest Virginia University Dobrawa NapieralaAssociate Professor at the Center for Craniofacial Regeneration atUniversity of Pittsburgh Steven OffenbacherUniversity of North Carolina Deborah PhilpDirector of the NIDCR Office of Education atNIDCR/NIH Donald RindalSenior Research Investigator & Associate Dental Director for Research atHealthPartners Institute Martha SomermanDirector atNIDCR Dr. Heiko Spallek, DMD, PhD, MSBA(CIS)Head of School and Dean atThe University of Sydney Dr. Shannon WalletAssociate Professor atUniversity of Florida Jason WanNIDCR/NIH Dr. Darien WeatherspoonProgram Director atNIDCR/NIH Dr. Jane WeintraubRozier Douglass Distinguished Professor in Dental Public Health and former Dean atUniversity of North Carolina Dr. Robert WeyantAssociate Dean of Public Health and Outreach atUniversity of Pittsburgh